Home » Reviews » BLURRED LINES by LAUREN LAYNE

BLURRED LINES by LAUREN LAYNE

23636581
Synopsis
In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.
54830-add-to-goodreads

Expected publication: August 25th 2015 by Loveswept

Review

4.5 ‘Talk or Mute’ STARS

Loved it!!  Best friends. Roommates. House rules. A long line of one-night stands. A long-term boyfriend. All blended carefully together…

First off – I loved the title!  It could not be more perfect!  I couldn’t wait to dive in after reading the synopsis!  From the dual POV, the engaging characters who had a great story to tell, and the simplistic, yet, smooth writing style I couldn’t put it down!

“Guys and girls can’t be just friends. Or not best friends, anyway. Shit gets to complicated.”

Ben and Parker met as freshmen in college and had been best friends ever since.  They fit together seamlessly. Even 6 years later. They had defended their best-friends only status to friends, family, co-workers, and they were finally at the stage where everyone knows there’s nothing between them.  Even Parker’s long-term BF got it. The friend-zone was where they were and where they would stay. Our would they?  When Parker got dumped, she decided she was going to be just like her BFF and have casual sex.

“I’m going to be a girl version of Ben!”

Only she realized she could wouldn’t be able to do that with a stranger, sometime she didn’t know our couldn’t trust. And so the proposition …

“So how would this work?

It’s your idea. Didn’t you out any of the details while you were stewing on it …?

I more than loved the banter between Ben and Parker. They were no-joke best friends. They both kept me guessing – although the best friends to lovers storyline has been done, this felt fresh. I also found myself a little giddy while waiting for them to decide that what they were each feeling was real. It did get a bit angsty at times but nothing cheesy or nothing that had me rolling my eyes. It was an organic development of those deeper feelings. The chemistry was raw and although I felt the author could have honed in on that a bit more, there was enough that it was still believable.

Ben and my no strings attached relationship? Yeah. Turns out that there are suddenly strings after all. And I’m completely tangled in them.”

I adored Parker’s conversation with her mom!  Priceless!!

“But I can tell you this, based on my experience…your heart doesn’t need to be engaged to have, um, well fun. But you’ll enjoy it much more if you at least like the person.”

I was pulled further and further into this book by great writing, developed characters, and their witty and humorous ways. I look forward to more from this author in the future!!

~ ARC provided by Netgalley for honest review. ~

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s